Traverse Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok new problem with 2010 traverse....power steering has been going for a time now it's gone...4 yrs + 87000 + miles = no warranty ...so I'll be tackling this job myself.I can tell this is a job I only want to do once so I need to know the best replacement rack out there?I looked on gmparts direct and they say my rack part # 20964166 has been replaced with part # 22902261 (2013-2014 traverse)...are these I assume interchangeable?Are these racks improved over the 2010?Or should I get a replacement from cardone or other?Thank you for your time

·
Registered
72 Posts
No, please purchase from GM. As a former dealership mechanic and now as a fleet maintenance manager I believe in using OEM replacement parts.

I do ask a favor since you are tackling this job. Please post photos and draft a write up of the tricks and tips you learned to assist everyone in the community. Thanks.

·
Registered
11,357 Posts
Boatwrench said:
Please post photos and draft a write up of the tricks and tips you learned to assist everyone in the community. Thanks.
exactly what I was going to ask...

·
Registered
4 Posts
What timing.....I was just coming to post about this very problem. I was quoted $1,900 (roughly 10% of purchase price on our used '10 LT Traverse) to replace the steering gear, pump, and lines (plus alignment and shop fees) at the dealership. I see RockAuto has two racks (both ACDelco) PN#20964166 and PN#22902260. Can someone confirm the right number?