Traverse Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
2010 Traverse 175K miles. Engine has ran well its whole life. Lately it sounded like a tractor on cold start (put-put kind of sound). Tonight it started rough for the first time with mild shaking that smoothed out quickly. Check engine light on with codes PO300, PO304, PO305, PO306.

Would it be unlikely to be coil or plugs with multiple cylinders misfiring? I can do some repairs like change spark plugs and coils (spark plugs changed at 120k miles, but original coils). I could start there (coils) if there was a reasonable chance of success...can bad coil cause multiple misfiring cylinders or do I need a mechanic do you think? thanks

·
Registered
18 Posts
I'm no expert but it could be a number of things causing those misfire codes & diagnosis isn't always easy, but the plugs & coils is a good starting place. Could also be fuel quality related, or maybe even the fuel pump. Could be there is a vacuum leak somewhere. Might also check the electrical connections & wiring harnesses. Just some thoughts on where to start, hope you get it figured out!

·
Registered
11,224 Posts
carefully take a look for signs rodents were in the engine bay (little paw prints on dusty areas). Check her damaged wiring

·
Registered
1,278 Posts
Look under the top engine cover. This is the place where they built up their nesting on mine last year.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I looked around- I don't think it is mice. Last year I put in some new spark plugs that were not OEM. After reading around the net I am going to try going back to AC Delco. Some people report other brands can cause electrical probs that result in misfires.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Jk,
Since you are going to remove your intake manifold,
And you would probably replace the $20 intake manifold gasket when you reassemble your traverse
All to replace spark plugs.... ^^^^