Traverse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Considering purchasing a 2LT or LTZ Traverse and I'm wondering about the value of adding the Nav system. It would cost $2800 to $3000 to add (in Canada). I've never used a Nav system before and I don't really travel much that requires the need. I'm wondering if there are any other features it adds that makes the cost of adding the factory-installed Nav system worthwhile? I understand that the rear backup camera would be displayed on the Nav screen instead of the rear-view mirror but I'm uncertain of the other features.

To be honest, I'm having a hard time conceiving of purchasing the top-of-the-line LTZ without the Nav system (since every 'luxury' car seems to include them) but I'm not certain I'll get the value. Just wondering what others think as that might help me decide.

BTW - I am going to get the rear DVD system regardless of the Nav system. Does it make sense to get the Nav system if you are purchasing the rear DVD as well?

Thanks!

Bryan

·
Registered
56 Posts
Personally, I never saw the value of an expensive navigation system for any car.

My phone (Android) has turn-by-turn GPS on it, even before than my last several phones had verizon's navigation service available.

We travel quite a bit, and before my current phone, I'd just mapquest the directions, and if I got lost or there was a detour, I'd use the verizon navigation system that you could access for a couple of bucks for a 24 hour period.

With new phones, and the stand-alone GPS units for less than a hundred bucks, paying thousands for a nice looking built in nav system just doesn't make sense to me.

·
Registered
51 Posts
rival22 said:
Personally, I never saw the value of an expensive navigation system for any car.

My phone (Android) has turn-by-turn GPS on it, even before than my last several phones had verizon's navigation service available.