Traverse Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to the dealership today for regular maintenance and complained of a "fresh oil smell"

It only happens after a hot start.

Cold, first thing in the morning the cars runs fine and smells fine. After I drive the kids to school and drive back home, if I get in the truck and start it about 1-3 hours later, I get a fresh smell of oil. Not a burning oil smell, like a leak or exhaust burnt oil. A fresh smell, like someone opened a quart of oil in the passenger seat.

Today the tech say he did smell it, but "I work in a shop all day long, I smell like oil when I go home"

Also, when the oil was changed today, it was not even on the dip stick. 6000 miles first change. Checked Crankcase to intake, sealed, no oil on the ground, etc. WTF? anyone?

·
Registered
11,738 Posts
you need to check oil alot more often... not every 6000 miles.... more like every week- or every time you gas up. (even the manual states this).

Also--- I wonder if you have the issue of smelling 'gear' oil.
(you have the AWD?)

theres a TSB for this.. they are to install a Carbon filter (as opposed to just the cabin filter)

·
Registered
11,738 Posts
I see you do have the AWD....

that must be your issue...

heres the info

2007-2011

Acadia, Enclave, OUTLOOK, Traverse - Gear oil odor in interior of vehicle

Do this---Add charcoal cabin filter

Don't replace any underhood components

10-01-37-002

·
Registered
718 Posts
Gear oil smell was my first thought as well. I've started noticing it on our 2011. I still haven't been into the dealer yet for anything, but I will add it to the list for when I do go.

·
Registered
1,174 Posts
screw991le said:
Also, when the oil was changed today, it was not even on the dip stick. 6000 miles first change. Checked Crankcase to intake, sealed, no oil on the ground, etc. WTF? anyone?