Traverse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I have a new traverse and I am at 3000 miles on my odometer however the info center tells me I still have 50 % oil life remaining. Reading the service manual, it seems to indicate I can wait until it shows the oil life is out and ready to be changed. The oil life indicator has never been reset. When should I take it in for the first service ?

Thanks

·
Registered
201 Posts
This is what I am doing with my Traverse. Changed oil at 3000ish miles to Mobil One and will now change the oil at about 30% oil life per monitor. To give you some of my history I used to be a certified tech 10+ years ago and I am firm believer in synthetic oils and the better mileage I get is an added benefit.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I changed my Oil on my new Traverse at about 1500 Miles. I went with Royal Purple. My only beef is the removal of the Factory Oil Filter. I have yet to get it off. Looks like a trip to the dealer to have them "Crack" the filter off. Since I changed the oil, my mpg has been between 19.5 and 23. I only have about 2500 miles on the Traverse. My question to DANTHECHEVYMAN is: How the **** did you get your Factory Oil Filter off? I tried all types of tools short of sending a screw driver through it! Any advice? Any special tool out there? Thanks in advance. :help:

·
Registered
115 Posts
I use one of the plastic caps that fit over the end of the filter and attach to a ratchet to get mine on and off. This is on an 08 Enclave but should be basically the same I believe. You should have no issue generating enough torque with one of those. The trick is getting the correct size. I would go to an auto parts store and try the various sizes they have on the filters that fit the Lambda's.

·
Registered
74 Posts