Traverse Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The general consensus I'm seeing on the forum is that you can fit a new year engine in a first gen traverse..has anyone done this and is now experiencing issues as of late and are there any sources or compatibility charts I can refer to

·
Registered
258 Posts
I have no knowledge or experience in making this type swap. Responding to your post in order to bump it back to current pile--hoping someone more knowledgeable will see it and respond. Good luck. Engine swaps used to be the routine way of extending the life of an older vehicle. Now, with CANBUS electronics and reliance on the embedded computers, not sure if it possible.

Reactions: snobrdrdan

·
Registered
1 Posts
I had the original LLT replaced with a 2014 LFX in my 2010 traverse. A much better engine in my opinion. I get a bit over 2MPG better fuel economy and it feels more responsive and powerful. You will need custom exhaust down pipes but can run those to the flanges on the Y-pipe. The engine was from an Impala so the throttle body is on the wrong side of the engine bay but a large intake tube and an elbow is all that is needed.

·
Registered
442 Posts
From the Wiki: