Traverse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got my oil change done at the dealership where I bought the car. It was back in November and at the time I complained because they didn't reset my oil lift monitor and they left a pair of pliers in the car. They told me that my next oil change would be free, so I was fine with that.

So today I pop my trunk to fill my washer fluid. There is no oil cap, just a dirty rag jammed in the hole. I have been driving around with that for almost three months. I am going to the dealership tomorrow morning, but could there be any damage caused by driving around like that? I just want to make sure I get them to check anything that would need to be done.

I bought the traverse LT travelers edition back in April, and this was my third oil change. I thought that by going to the dealer, I would be getting the best service.

·
Premium Member
384 Posts
Not sure don't think there could be much but ill tell ya what id be extremely pissed.

·
Registered
860 Posts
Okay, I have to ask...you didn't check your oil for three months? I pop the hood and check mine before I start the engine and drive away from where I get the oil changed (to make sure there's oil in it) and then check it once a week.

·
Registered
994 Posts
sineadh said:
There is no oil cap, just a dirty rag jammed in the hole. I have been driving around with that for almost three months.

I thought that by going to the dealer, I would be getting the best service.
Another dealer horror story. I would say that you are more likely to get the simple job of an oil change done right at a quikky lube than the dealership.

Did you check the oil level after you discovered the rag?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I didn't check my oil level ... It is not something that entered my head to do, brand new car, regular oil changes, oil life monitor with onstar notification.

Not something I thought I would need to check on a regular basis.

·