Traverse Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For awhile now I am noticing the occasional clunking/popping from the front end. I know this is not the ABS check as it happens way after starting a trip and it is a much more noticeable and does sound different.

Any ideas? Could it be the the steering rack? I have not brought it to the dealership as it is not predictably reproducible. Not sure what to do next.

·
Registered
272 Posts
I did notice that on mine once when I had about 1k on it. I wonder if its the spring in the strut binding up.

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
kawazar said:
I did notice that on mine once when I had about 1k on it. I wonder if its the spring in the strut binding up.
Thanks Rob for the reply. Mine happens daily but not predictably. So taking it to the dealer might not yet be a good use of my time. I am not a mechanic for sure but I am thinking that for example a developing rack problem would be acted on only when hearing the sound consistently.

·
Registered
11,568 Posts
I wonder if these have sway bar endlinks....
(on the trailblazers- these were notorious for causing popping or clanking)... sometimes it was as simple as tightening a bolt.

·
Registered
11,568 Posts
just saw a post on the acadia forum-
someone there was having clunking issues---
took it in- and they retorqued the front end (parts in suspension I guess).
No more clunking.

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks Barrios for your help in searching out the thread.

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
rbarrios said:
I wonder if these have sway bar endlinks....
(on the trailblazers- these were notorious for causing popping or clanking)