Traverse Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new here and really like this site. The other Traverse site just doesn't have the traffic.

Well, I do not have a Traverse yet but plan on getting one in about a year or so. I work for GMPP (extended warranty) and I have access to a several GM only sites that can get service bulletins, vehicle build dates, repair history (only if the work was done at a GM dealer) and some other stuff. I am an ASE Certified Master Technician so I can also help answer mechanical questions that you may have.

·
Registered
11,235 Posts
welcome....
It appears you will be very valuable...

·
Registered
121 Posts
I guess I'll start with the questions.... First off, welcome to the site and thank you for sharing the knowledge!

the 6T75 offers "automatic grade braking". Is there any way to reduce this or turn it off? Every time I let off the gas to coast a few hundred feet(or however long it may be) it feels like the trans downshifts to reduce my speed. It's kind of weird to have the vehicle slow down while doing 60mph downill...

:cheers:

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
This is how it works...Adaptive shift controls include automatic grade braking, which commands the transmission to remain in a lower gear if the vehicle is decelerating or coasting on a downgrade. This takes advantage of engine braking to prevent unwanted acceleration. This reduces the need for the driver to brake during a hill descent. The control module receives input that monitors brake pedal usage, vehicle acceleration rate, throttle position, and even whether a trailer is connected to the vehicle...The wide overall ratio spread of 6.04:1 allows a “steep” first gear, as well as a “tall” overdrive top gear for low-rpm highway cruising. Acceleration is maximized, as is fuel economy.

I am not an engineer, but I assume that the only way to either reduce or stop this function is to reprogram the transmission control module.