Traverse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I headed out this morning before 8 with an outdoor temp of about 31 degrees F. As the sun came out and the day started warming, I noticed the temp display in the DIC had risen to 34 and was going no higher. I made several stops at different places killing and restarting the engine. It still registered 34 after each stop.

Finally, when it got to be over 60 outside with bright sunshine and my car refused to do anything but blow hot air in my face, I called a couple of dealers and found an Ambient Air Temperature Sensor for $31 US. I was headed to pick it up when all of a sudden I looked down and the DIC read 38 degrees. While I watched -- in less than a minute-- it climbed degree-by-degree from 38 to 64; the air conditioner coming on in the process.

Anybody else ever have this problem?
Anybody else think I should go ahead and change the sensor for good measure?
 
A

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
I see you have an LTZ; so I assume you have the digital HVAC system. One way to "reset" the outdoor temp sensor is to push the A/C button and the recirculate button at the same time. This button sequence should work as it works on my 07. Let me know if it does.

Another way is to get out on the highway and get some airflow to the sensor; I have noticed this works but takes much longer. The "two button" method is instantaneous
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the tip. I'll give the 2-button method a try and report back.

I wish I'd known about it this morning when it was stuck on 34.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
855 Posts
We had the same issue with our 99 Regal. Our Traverse does the same thing. I'll have to try the "two button" method and see if it helps--thanks for the tip.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
2,038 Posts
That is a handy little tip...let us know if it works for you guys. I don't know that it would be necessary on the manual HVAC models, but if I ever notice that the temp sensor is not reacting, I will know what to try.

THANKS!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,108 Posts
is this the 1st time yours does this?
Ive posted a step/flow of how the computer updates the temp... that should be similar to the lambdas... it basically does not update temps right away under certain conditions.
But if youve noticed it change right away in similar conditions- then try the reset and if it still acts up- swap it out.

The outside air temperature is displayed on the Driver Information Center (Fig. 8), radio or rear view mirror in a number of GM vehicles. There may be some confusion about the operation of the display and how quickly it updates ambient temperature. Depending on several factors, the temperature may not be updated immediately and owners may feel that the display is inaccurate at times.

As an example, here's a look at the operation of the outside air temperature display on several GM small cars from recent model years (2004-2007 Malibu/Maxx; 2005-2010 Cobalt and G6; 2005-2006 Pursuit [Canada]; 2006-2009 Solstice; 2006-2011 HHR; 2007-2010 AURA, SKY and G5; 2008 Malibu Classic; 2008-2010 Malibu).



The ambient air temperature sensor is a variable resistor interfaced to the Body Control Module (BCM). The BCM provides the logic for reading the ambient air temperature sensor, filtering the data and transmitting the information via the serial data circuit to the outside temperature display. The outside air temperature algorithm uses three pieces of information: outside air temperature data, vehicle speed, and the time the engine was turned off.



When the engine is first started, the algorithm looks at how long the engine was off and if the outside temperature is lower than the last reading taken during the previous ignition cycle. From this information, it's determined if a new outside temperature reading should be taken.



If the engine was off long enough or the current outside air temperature is cooler than the stored value, a new outside temperature reading is taken and displayed. If the engine was not off long enough or the current outside air temperature is higher than the stored value from the previous ignition cycle, the last stored value of outside air temperature taken will be displayed.



The outside air temperature will continue to be updated every second as long as the outside air temperature is the same or cooler than the previous reading. Once the new outside air temperature reading exceeds the previous temperature and the vehicle is traveling less than 18 mph (29 km/h), the displayed outside air temperature will remain at its last value. Once the vehicle speed exceeds 18 mph, the displayed outside air temperature will be updated. If the speed drops below 18 mph, the outside air temperature will freeze at its last value.



When using a scan tool during diagnosis, it is possible that the temperature reading on the Tech 2 will differ from the temperature displayed on the DIC/radio without there being a problem with the vehicle. The DIC/Radio only displays the reading being sent from the BCM.



TIP: Do not replace the ambient air temperature sensor or the BCM for an inaccurate outside air temperature display condition.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,108 Posts
Quantum said:
That is a handy little tip...let us know if it works for you guys. I don't know that it would be necessary on the manual HVAC models, but if I ever notice that the temp sensor is not reacting, I will know what to try.

THANKS!
im tempted to say that this 'trick' only works on the Digital AC systems. not the manual system
 
A

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
rbarrios,

I don't think this would apply to the manual HVAC system
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,108 Posts
bobdave said:
Anybody know were this sensor is located? I'm trying to install mine.
the exterior temp sensor- is located way in the front.
Look in the area - in front of the radiator.
I think I saw it down close to the air dam thingy....
Try laying on your back/side and look around in that area....
I think I was looking at my power steering cooler and saw the sensor...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Well, you see mine was wrecked in I bought it, and I'm fixing it up for my personal use. The sensor was just hanging loose, and so I'm trying to figure out were it goes. From the cable routing and the parts catalog it's clear that it's mounted somewhere in the radiator/ radiator support area.

I figured I asked the question here just in case someone knew exactly where it went.

Bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
381 Posts
It was moved at some point in time due to inaccurate readings.

On my 2007 Acadia, it sits directly on top of the radiator in the center almost directly behind the hood latch and a little lower on the top of the rad (of course, the decorator cover is removed to see this). I don't know if this matches the location on a Traverse.
 
A

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
medicrxdoc said:
It was moved at some point in time due to inaccurate readings.

On my 2007 Acadia, it sits directly on top of the radiator in the center almost directly behind the hood latch and a little lower on the top of the rad (of course, the decorator cover is removed to see this). I don't know if this matches the location on a Traverse.
medic,

So I am assuming that you never took your 07 in for the sensor relocation? I didn't either although sometimes I wish I did :-\
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,662 Posts
andylibby,

Did you try the reset method that AA/78U recommended? I look forward to reading an update about your situation.

If you are still experiencing this situation, I would be happy to perform further research for you about this.

Have a happy Monday!

Michelle P., Chevrolet Customer Service
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
381 Posts
AA/78U said:
medic,

So I am assuming that you never took your 07 in for the sensor relocation? I didn't either although sometimes I wish I did :-\
No I didn't feel the need....my first visit to the dealer was just short of 3 years for the heated washer fluid recall.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
109 Posts
I have a 2011 AWD LT1 Traverse. The temperature display seems to display the incorrect temperature and stay where it is for an extended period and miles after I crank it. If I do the 2 button reset as previously mentioned it goes to the correct temperature. Mine is a manual system. I am planning to take this back to the dealer for evaluation, but the 2 button re-set does re-set the temperature to display the correct temperature at the time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
I have tried the two-button reset method that AA/78U recommended and the temp on the DIC definitely changed a few degrees instantly. What I don't know for sure is if it would have worked last Saturday when it was stuck at 34. I will sure remember it for future reference.

FYI, I do have the auto temp control so my problem was that I was sitting there in a black granite Traverse in a sunny 63 degrees and all the car would do was blow hot air and tell me "Ice is Possible, Drive With Care" because it thought it was near freezing.

Thanks AA/78U for the tip! :cheers: I wonder why stuff like that isn't in the Owner's Manual? Or, is it?
 
A

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
andylibby said:
I have tried the two-button reset method that AA/78U recommended and the temp on the DIC definitely changed a few degrees instantly. What I don't know for sure is if it would have worked last Saturday when it was stuck at 34. I will sure remember it for future reference.

FYI, I do have the auto temp control so my problem was that I was sitting there in a black granite Traverse in a sunny 63 degrees and all the car would do was blow hot air and tell me "Ice is Possible, Drive With Care" because it thought it was near freezing.

Thanks AA/78U for the tip! :cheers: I wonder why stuff like that isn't in the Owner's Manual? Or, is it?
I have gone through my 07 manual and unless I missed it; I don't recall seeing anything relating to an instant correction of the outside temperature. I got that tip from another Acadia member some time ago and I still use it to this day if I feel the temp is stuck
 
1 - 20 of 31 Posts
Top