Traverse Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a 2017 LS. and I have the blanks in the third row for another set of speakers. I am wondering if anyone knows if the wire harness is there for the speakers as i know sometimes in order to save costs manufacturers will use the same stuff between models and leave out the components. If it is there, I'd like to fish it out and run a third row of speakers. Also, having an LS I have a base head unit, can i swap out the factory head unit with a head unit from a traverse LT or premier that offered the infotainment/media streaming features?

Thanks guys.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,235 Posts
is the 2017 the 1st gen? I dont recall.

But on my 2010 LT1.... there was no harness there.
I simply tapped into the 2nd row speakers and ran wiring.

There is a thread on here somewhere on what wires to splice into.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
is the 2017 the 1st gen? I dont recall.

But on my 2010 LT1.... there was no harness there.
I simply tapped into the 2nd row speakers and ran wiring.

There is a thread on here somewhere on what wires to splice into.
Only difference between mine and yours is the shape of the taillights, body style still over all the same.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,873 Posts
Only difference between mine and yours is the shape of the taillights, body style still over all the same.
Not the "only difference." License plate was raised from the bumper to the liftgate on the "1.5" gens (2013-2017). Several other minor differences, too. IIRC, the Homelink buttons were lighted on the 2009-2012's.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
I've got a 2017 LS. and I have the blanks in the third row for another set of speakers. I am wondering if anyone knows if the wire harness is there for the speakers as I know sometimes in order to save costs manufacturers will use the same stuff between models and leave out the components. If it is there, I'd like to fish it out and run the third row of speakers. Also, having an LS I have a base head unit, can I swap out the factory head unit with a head unit from a traverse LT or premier that offered the infotainment/media streaming features?

Thanks guys.
I have a 2015 Traverse LT with an LT1 package. I got it used and have been cleaning the car when I realized that there is a 3rd-row speaker option. This option is with a BOSE sound system (10 speaker system). When I popped the blank (where the speaker should be), I found nothing, but once I popped the panel out, boom, found a blue connector taped up to a wire loom. Once I cut the tape, the wire was the right length for the speaker. All that was on the driver's side. The passenger side was easy, popped the cover and bam, there it was. The tips are light blue, which means the BOSE system. None BOSE gets black tips.

Now I'm going to look for the connectors at the center dash and for the subwoofer. I do not have a navi unit or the DVD option unit. Its a regular touch screen unit. But the sound should be nice.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
UPDATE — the car is back together and unfortunately I didn’t find any more connectors. The stock (non-Bose) use the same connector but the tab is reversed. So if you want to use the BOSE speakers, you need to cut the tips and make sure to wire “A” to “A” and “B” to “B”. This will not make any changes to the system over all. The other thing I noticed was the ohms. The stock say 8, while BOSE say 2. In case anyone needs to know this and the stock have a small magnet.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top