XM radio and OnStar questions

(1/8) > >>

DuayneD:
Hello all -

I'm a newbie who's seriously considering getting a Traverse within the next 3-4 weeks, which would be my first GM vehicle ever (and I'm over 50 years old). Anyway, I'm going to have mucho questions for this great collective wisdom that I've been reading here for a few days, but I'll start with a couple ridiculously easy ones first that show my ignorance (and I hope this is the right section to post this):

1. I know XM radio is standard. But does that mean that once I take delivery that I have to pay the monthly subscription fee, as I obviously would if I purchased XM on my own? Or does GM have some arrangement, like the rental car companies, where it's "free" (i.e. built into their cost of doing business) for me?

2. I also know you can use On Star somehow with your own cell phone. Also On Star can call for help, etc. Question: Say I forget my cellphone at home. Can I still use OnStar for personal calls, just like a regular cellphone? (I imagine I'd have to sign up somehow to register my own phone number and it'd use my minutes, or something like that.)

OK, now that you've almost stopped laughing at me, I'll be happy for any straight answers I can get.

Thanks!

clbhk:
Yes, you will have to pay for XM, once your free trial runs out.  My free trial was 3 months.  After that, you deal with XM directly. 

[EDIT:  OnStar uses Verizon Wireless, not satellite, for communications.]