TraverseForum.com
Bookmark and Share
August 21, 2014, 02:15:25 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Check out our new iPhone, Android & Blackberry App! More info
   
   Home   Help Search Gallery Login Register  
Registered users see fewer ads.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
This topic has not yet been rated!
You have not rated this topic. Select a rating:
Author Topic: Added remote start  (Read 6270 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
jim8
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


View Profile
« on: May 10, 2011, 05:20:12 PM »

I just added remote start to my 2011 2LT. I had the Dealer install it. It was 350.00. Works great no problems. They changed a part and I got 2 new remotes with the start buttons. I still have the 2 that came with the car, they can,t start the car but good to have as spares.
Logged
rbarrios
Traverse GOD!
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 6957


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2011, 05:54:41 PM »

Is this the remote with the key fobs that look like your factory- except it has the remote start button (circle arrow) or the fancy remote...

they most likely added the hood latch sensor- so it cant be remote started with the hood opened.

There was several members who were told remote start was not available in early 2011 (to be added)..
seems they are now able to - or you have an informed dealer.
Logged

2010 FWD LT1-Gold Mist Metallic- seats 8.
Build Date- July 31, 2009-2nd day of Spring Hill 2010 production.
2013 Equinox 3.6L -    23,000
2010 Traverse 3.6L-    80,000
2003 Trailblazer 4.2L-173,000
anglarry04
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 169


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2011, 06:54:47 PM »

im curious too.  I was reading other posts about adding remote start...or lack thereof...
Logged
jim8
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2011, 10:03:26 PM »

it looks exactly like the original remote except for the circle arrow button. When I first asked the dealer where I bought it they told me I had to get an after market one. That was in Nov. I am now having the car serviced at another dealership and they told me it was no problem. I don't know if things have changed or if the first dealer was uninformed.
Logged
GXPWeasel
Traverse Freak
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1164



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2011, 09:07:46 AM »

I'm glad to hear that you were able to get this feature. This should be very helpful to those who want to add it to their 2011 now.
Logged

Greg.

2010 Red Jewel LT2 (Spring Edition)
rbarrios
Traverse GOD!
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 6957


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2011, 11:38:04 AM »

sounds like you can now remote start using the APP.
Logged

2010 FWD LT1-Gold Mist Metallic- seats 8.
Build Date- July 31, 2009-2nd day of Spring Hill 2010 production.
2013 Equinox 3.6L -    23,000
2010 Traverse 3.6L-    80,000
2003 Trailblazer 4.2L-173,000
Chevrolet Customer Svc
Traverse Freak
******
Offline Offline

Posts: 1359



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2011, 12:41:31 PM »

jim8,

Thank you for sharing your experience with adding the remote start to your 2011 Traverse 2LT.  Please, clarify for me which dealership installed this for yoy, was it at the dealership that you talked with in November of 2010 or was it the dealership that you had the vehicle serviced at?  I apologize, for my confusion.

Michelle P., Chevrolet Customer Service
Logged
jim8
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2011, 08:53:18 PM »

  Hi Michelle,

The dealer that services my car now is where I had the remote start installed. They are Best Chevrolet in Hingham MA. I have only visited them a few times but they have exceeded my expectations. Unfortunately I can't say the same about the dealer I purchased from.

Jim
Logged
Bigbuckeye
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2011, 11:38:17 PM »

sounds like you can now remote start using the APP.

I too just had the GM factory remote system added to our LS, unfortunately it does NOT appear that the IPod App will allow for the remote start. 
Logged
GXPWeasel
Traverse Freak
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1164



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2011, 09:31:36 AM »

I too just had the GM factory remote system added to our LS, unfortunately it does NOT appear that the IPod App will allow for the remote start. 

You have to have onStar for that. Then you SHOULD be able to remote start per the App.
Logged

Greg.

2010 Red Jewel LT2 (Spring Edition)
Chevrolet Customer Svc
Traverse Freak
******
Offline Offline

Posts: 1359



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2011, 12:08:17 PM »

Dear jim8,

Thank you for the additional information.  I am glad that you are receiving outstanding service from this dealership that you have decided to have your Traverse serviced at.

In the future, donít hesitate to contact me with questions or concerns.

Michelle P., Chevrolet Customer Service
Logged
Bigbuckeye
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2011, 10:50:23 PM »

You have to have onStar for that. Then you SHOULD be able to remote start per the App.

The app has not changed, the remote start function still does not show up, does the app have to be removed then reinstalled?
Logged
rbarrios
Traverse GOD!
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 6957


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2011, 03:41:59 PM »

you using Iphone?

How far do you get?
Are you able to get it to display anything?  like miles and fuel level?
Logged

2010 FWD LT1-Gold Mist Metallic- seats 8.
Build Date- July 31, 2009-2nd day of Spring Hill 2010 production.
2013 Equinox 3.6L -    23,000
2010 Traverse 3.6L-    80,000
2003 Trailblazer 4.2L-173,000
Bigbuckeye
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2011, 10:11:29 PM »

you using Iphone?

How far do you get?
Are you able to get it to display anything?  like miles and fuel level?

I think we might have some confusion..  Our Travers is an LS model that did not originally have remote start.  The app for our car only has lock, unlock and horn.  I have since added the GM remote start. 

What I am saying is, the IPad app has not changed since I added the remote start.  My original contention is that you obviously can add remote start to a non remote start Traverse, but the app will still not change to the version that has the remote start option.

My app works perfectly for all the functions, it just does not have a remote start " button.".

Onstar told us that the app will not update
Logged
kjlamkin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2012, 04:32:16 PM »

Hello,

I have had the OEM remote start added to our 2011 Traverse LT.  From what I am being told, it is the same exact unit that would have been installed at the factory and should have just plugged into an existing connection.  I was told that no wires had to be cut or spliced to make it work...which means to me that there was already an existing harness to plug into.  My problem is that OnStar is claiming that it had to be wired differently and that the models with the remote start from the factory are wired differently than when the OEM remote start is added at the dealer.   I want this to work with the smartphone app, but OnStar is being stubborn and useless in this matter.  Also, when I called GM customer assistance, they just bounced me back to OnStar, only to be told the same song and dance...

Is what I am being told true?  Is there really that big of a difference in wiring that OnStar would not be able to make this available on my smartphone app?  I find this ridiculous as had I not been misled into believing that the app would work, I may have opted for a different remote start system.

Hopefully the GM customer assistance member is still monitoring this.  I demand some answers and I demand that this be resolved....it gets tiring when I am being sent in circles between GM and OnStar.
Logged
rbarrios
Traverse GOD!
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 6957


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2012, 05:35:25 PM »

They are correct...

the Onstar app  WILL NOT work on vehicles with remote start added afterwards...

Only vehicles with factory installed Remote start will work with the app.
Logged

2010 FWD LT1-Gold Mist Metallic- seats 8.
Build Date- July 31, 2009-2nd day of Spring Hill 2010 production.
2013 Equinox 3.6L -    23,000
2010 Traverse 3.6L-    80,000
2003 Trailblazer 4.2L-173,000
rbarrios
Traverse GOD!
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 6957


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2012, 06:01:44 PM »

GM released a bulletin stating that the APP will not work on vehicles that didnt come with remote start from the factory.

Though- I have read post where some people had the dealer add remote start on other GM vehicles (silverado in this example)...
and the owner found that sometimes the APP would appear... then it would dissapear. Sometimes appear- and actually start the trucks- and other times not.

this was posted by an Onstar rep... on another forum where they asked the same question you did.

"Unfortunately, OnStar cannot guarantee that the remote start feature of the RemoteLink app will work with vehicles that do not have factory installed remote start."
Logged

2010 FWD LT1-Gold Mist Metallic- seats 8.
Build Date- July 31, 2009-2nd day of Spring Hill 2010 production.
2013 Equinox 3.6L -    23,000
2010 Traverse 3.6L-    80,000
2003 Trailblazer 4.2L-173,000
Pages: [1]   Go Up   [ Home | Unread Posts | Unread Replies ]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  
Custom Auto Accessories

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.14 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC | Sitemap
©2014 traverseforum.com All Rights Reserved.
All trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!