TraverseForum.com
Bookmark and Share
December 20, 2014, 08:41:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: The forum is up and running on our new Dedicated Server! Please PM me if you see issues.
   
   Home   Help Search Gallery Login Register  
Registered users see fewer ads.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
This topic has not yet been rated!
You have not rated this topic. Select a rating:
Author Topic: Remote Keyless Entry FOB Programming  (Read 20884 times)
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
RC3094
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


View Profile
« on: March 04, 2011, 10:23:38 PM »

Picked up a third RKE FOB and transponder key as a spare set.  The 2011 owners manual goes over how to program the transponder key but not the remote FOB.  The manual says only the dealer can program the remote FOB's.

I've seen some posts on other sites indicating that new FOB's can be programmed through the DIC but the feature "PRESS TO RELEARN REMOTE KEY" is not listed on the 2011 vehicle information scroll list.

Any suggestions out there on how to program a new FOB?
Logged
rbarrios
Traverse GOD!
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 7303


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2011, 10:43:11 PM »

I read that for 2011 GM's FOB programming is now a dealer ONLY thing.

An owner can no longer do /
Logged

2010 FWD LT1-Gold Mist Metallic- seats 8.
Build Date- July 31, 2009-2nd day of Spring Hill 2010 production.
2013 Equinox 3.6L -    27,000
2010 Traverse 3.6L-    84,000
2003 Trailblazer 4.2L-173,000
Quantum
Global Moderator
Traverse Freak
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1849



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2011, 10:44:28 PM »

Here is the exerpt out of the 2010 owner's manual on page 5-25

RELEARN REMOTE KEY
This display allows you to match
Remote Keyless Entry (RKE)
transmitters to your vehicle. This
procedure will erase all previously
learned transmitters. Therefore, they
must be relearned as additional
transmitters.
To match an RKE transmitter to your
vehicle:
1. Press the vehicle information
button until PRESS V TO
RELEARN REMOTE KEY
displays.
2. Press the set/reset button until
REMOTE KEY LEARNING
ACTIVE is displayed.
3. Press and hold the lock and
unlock buttons on the first
transmitter at the same time for
about 15 seconds.
On vehicles with memory recall
seats, the first transmitter
learned will match driver 1 and
the second will match driver 2.
A chime will sound indicating
that the transmitter is matched.
4. To match additional transmitters
at this time, repeat Step 3.
Each vehicle can have a
maximum of eight transmitters
matched to it.
5. To exit the programming mode,
you must cycle the key to
LOCK/OFF.
Logged

2010 Traverse 1LT
Built 3/10 in Lansing, MI

Ontario, Canada
rbarrios
Traverse GOD!
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 7303


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2011, 10:46:02 PM »

yup- I knew Id read about it...
Seems youre going to have to pay the dealer...

Key Fob Programming
January 1, 2011 7:41 PM
If the owner of a 2011 Impala, Escalade model, Avalanche, Silverado, Suburban, Tahoe, Sierra, Yukon, Yukon Denali, Yukon XL, or Yukon Denali XL requests to have a Remote Keyless Entry (RKE) transmitter (key fob) programmed, a scan tool must be used. This does not apply to Impala and Tahoe fleet vehicles.

TIP: Starting in the 2011 model year, key fobs can only be programmed using a scan tool.

In previous model years, it was possible to program key fobs for these vehicles using the vehicle's Driver Information Center (DIC), if equipped. Programming key fobs through the DIC is no longer an option on the 2011 model year vehicles.

Logged

2010 FWD LT1-Gold Mist Metallic- seats 8.
Build Date- July 31, 2009-2nd day of Spring Hill 2010 production.
2013 Equinox 3.6L -    27,000
2010 Traverse 3.6L-    84,000
2003 Trailblazer 4.2L-173,000
RC3094
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2011, 10:50:23 PM »

Kinda what I figured since there wasn't anything out there on how to program the 2011 FOB's.

The 2011 DIC definitely does not have that option available like the 2010.

I wonder how deep the dealer is going to reach into my pockets to program the RKE FOB... flaming mad
Logged
Quantum
Global Moderator
Traverse Freak
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1849



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2011, 10:55:49 PM »

I wonder how deep the dealer is going to reach into my pockets to program the RKE FOB... flaming mad



Depends how well you get along with your dealer or salesperson....I think that my salesperson would 'get it done' for me for no charge.

Let us know what happens, and what the price tag is.
Logged

2010 Traverse 1LT
Built 3/10 in Lansing, MI

Ontario, Canada
RC3094
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2011, 07:41:39 AM »

Starting in the 2011 model year, key fobs can only be programmed using a scan tool.


Is this an OBDII scan tool or a special GM scan tool?
I can borrow an OBDII tool if that's the case.

If it's like on my Dodge truck, the dealer had a tool named StarScan that allowed most of the features on the truck to be modified. ie delay on key off accessory power which was factory set at 10 minutes could be changed anywhere up to 90 minutes.

Logged
jwhjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 693


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2011, 09:04:22 AM »

Chances are it's the GM Scan tool that they will need to use.  I think it's called Tech 2 or something like that.
Logged

2011 Traverse 1LT AWD
Cyber Grey Metallic
rbarrios
Traverse GOD!
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 7303


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2011, 02:32:44 PM »

yup most likely the tech2.

BUT on the other 2011s with the newer architecture (like the Equinox and Terrain)-- those are using a whole new tool...
I believe it will be the new architecture for more platforms.
Logged

2010 FWD LT1-Gold Mist Metallic- seats 8.
Build Date- July 31, 2009-2nd day of Spring Hill 2010 production.
2013 Equinox 3.6L -    27,000
2010 Traverse 3.6L-    84,000
2003 Trailblazer 4.2L-173,000
RC3094
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2011, 05:03:10 PM »

Well, since it looks like I'm taking it to the dealer to program an additional RKE FOB, are there any other features that can be activated/manipulated through the Tech2 Scan tool while I'm there?

Logged
Panther
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2013, 05:50:29 PM »

Here is the exerpt out of the 2010 owner's manual on page 5-25

RELEARN REMOTE KEY
This display allows you to match
Remote Keyless Entry (RKE)
transmitters to your vehicle. This
procedure will erase all previously
learned transmitters. Therefore, they
must be relearned as additional
transmitters.
To match an RKE transmitter to your
vehicle:
1. Press the vehicle information
button until PRESS V TO
RELEARN REMOTE KEY
displays.
2. Press the set/reset button until
REMOTE KEY LEARNING
ACTIVE is displayed.
3. Press and hold the lock and
unlock buttons on the first
transmitter at the same time for
about 15 seconds.
On vehicles with memory recall
seats, the first transmitter
learned will match driver 1 and
the second will match driver 2.
A chime will sound indicating
that the transmitter is matched.
4. To match additional transmitters
at this time, repeat Step 3.
Each vehicle can have a
maximum of eight transmitters
matched to it.
5. To exit the programming mode,
you must cycle the key to
LOCK/OFF.
This work perfectly thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Panther
Logged
gatrhumpy
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2013, 06:49:29 AM »

I have a question. I have a 2010 Traverse LTZ, which we bought used. I used the DIC buttons to program each remote. The problem is, whichever remote was programmed second, after I program the first remote, I cannot unlock the doors using the second remote.

For example, I programmed my wife's remote first (1st remote) and mine second. After I programmed the second remote, the first remote's buttons don't unlock the door, lock it, or anything. I can still start the car usign the first remote, but I cannot lock it or unlock the car using the first remote after I program my remote (second remote).

What's going on?

Also, when I unlock the doors using the first keyfob, the seats don't move to the first memory recall setting like they're supposed to.
Logged
gatrhumpy
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2013, 09:15:26 AM »

No one can tell me why the second remote won't work whenever I program the first remote?
Logged
gatrhumpy
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2013, 05:01:53 PM »

Interesting.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up   [ Home | Unread Posts | Unread Replies ]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  
Custom Auto Accessories

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.14 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC | Sitemap
©2014 traverseforum.com All Rights Reserved.
All trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!